Program chairs

Thierry Magnac (Toulouse School of Economics)


Thierry Magnac has been a Professor of Economics at the University of Toulouse since 2005. His research agenda is set on empirical issues in the economics of education, labor or consumption and on methodological issues in microeconometrics.

He has received an Advanced Grant from the European Research Council in 2012 regarding the structural modelling of the dynamics of microeconomic behavior. He is one of the coeditors of the Journal of Applied Econometrics and he is the Secretary of the European Standing Committee of the Econometric Society.

Mark W. Watson (Princeton University)


Mark Watson is Howard Harrison and Gabrielle Snyder Beck Professor of Economics and Public Affairs at Princeton University. He is also a Research Associate in the NBER’s Programs on Economic Fluctuations and Growth and Monetary Economics and a member of the NBER’s Business Cycle Dating Committee.

Watson did his undergraduate work at Pierce Junior College and California State University at Northridge, and completed his Ph.D. at the University of California at San Diego. Before joining Princeton’s Economics and Public Affairs Department in 1995, he taught at Harvard University and Northwestern University, and spent one year as a Visiting Associate Professor at the University of Chicago. He has also served as a consultant for the Federal Reserve Banks of Chicago and Richmond.

Watson’s research focuses on time-series econometrics, empirical macroeconomics, and macroeconomic forecasting. He has published articles in these areas and is the author (with James Stock) of Introduction to Econometrics, a leading undergraduate textbook. He is also a fellow of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences and of the Econometric Society.

 Committee members

Jason Abrevaya, University of Texas
Peter Arcidiacono, Duke University
Tim Conley, University of Western Ontario
Tom Crossley, University of Essex
Marco Del Negro, Federal Reserve Bank of New York
Raffaella Giacomini, University College London
Domenico Giannone, Federal Reserve Bank of New York
Refet Gurkaynak, Bilkent University
Peter Hansen, European University Institute
Bruce Hansen, University of Wisconsin
Chris Hansen, University of Chicago
Gary Koop, University of Strathclyde
Francesca Molinari, Cornell University
Serena Ng, Columbia University
Andres Santos, University of California San Diego
Philippe Schmidt Dengler, University of Vienna
Allan Timmermann, University of California San Diego
Viktor Todorov, Northwestern University
Arthur Van Soest, Tilburg University